

20 Nov 2012



The Maras Group's Steve Maras was honoured for his enormous contribution to the success of the Rundle Street East mainstreet precinct at the inaugural Mainstreet SA Awards earlier this month.

The gala event at the National Wine Centre saw more than 140 people gather to celebrate the best in South Australia's mainstreets. Special guests included the Lord Mayor of Adelaide Mr Stephen Yarwood, Mayor of Norwood Payneham St Peters Mr Robert Bria, Mayor of Walkerville Ms Heather Wright, Mayor of Prospect Mr David O'Loughlin and the Mayor of Unley Mr Lachlan Clyne supported by many Elected Members.

Also attending was the Chairman of Regional Development Australia (SA) Mr Rob Kerin and the President of Mainstreet Australia Mr Steve Bentley and the Vice President Ms Debra Howe along with Lois Boswell from the Premier's Department.

Property Council Division Councillor Steve Maras accepted the Property Council Outstanding Partnership Award on behalf of the Maras Group and Adelaide City Council for the 'Rundle Street East End Public Realm & Built Form Upgrade' project that has delivered a first-class result in the heart of the City. Steve was also personally acknowleded for his efforts, taking out the Infraplan Outstanding Individual Contribution Award.

The night was a great success and has set the groundwork for an ongoing and exciting awards series. The Property Council congratulates Mainstreet SA on an excellent event and a great initiative.

The WINNERS:

The Property Council Outstanding Partnership Award:

Maras Group & Adelaide City Council for the 'Rundle Street East End Public Realm & Built Form Upgrade' project that has delivered a first class result in the heart of the City.

The CBRE Improving the Business Mix Award:

The winner is – Maras Group for their entry 'Curating a healthy and balanced business mix in Rundle Street East' that resulted in the attraction of many high quality fashion brands to the East End.

The Hames Sharley Public Realm/Urban Design Award:

The winner is – City of Prospect for the 'Redevelopment of the Village Heart of Prospect Road' whereby the Council has delivered economic and social benefits to the City.

The Lucid Consulting Building a Sustainable Mainstreet Award:

The winner is – Grote Business Precinct for their 'Adopt a Native Christmas Promotion' that decorated Christmas Trees along the street and later replanted them in the parklands.

The Intrepid Property Excellence in Marketing Award:

The winner is – Rundle Mall Management for the 'Unique Style on Rundle Magazine' for clear implementation of a highly effective strategy reaching the residents of Adelaide. In addition a Special Merit Award was presented to the Community Pride Group of Tumby Bay for their 'Tumby Bay Views' magazine and website.

The Maras Group Excellence in Mainstreet Events Award:

The winner is – East End Coordination Group for 'Summer Fridays in the East End' a 17 week promotion that activated laneways and created a great atmosphere for visitors. The judges also awarded a Special Merit Award to Jetty Road Mainstreet for the 'Great Jetty Road Treasure Hunt'.

The Infraplan Outstanding Individual Contribution Award:

The winner is - Steve Maras – Managing Director of the Maras Group for his contribution to Mainstreets in South Australia and Australia. Steve is an active member of Mainstreet SA, the Property Council Mainstreet subcommittee, Norwood Economic Development Committee and the East End Coordination Group.

<u>Julie Wrobel</u> was also recognised for her role as inaugural Chair Of Mainstreet SA and tireless work guiding the National Conference held in Adelaide and establishing the group as an entity.

The Regional Development Australia Best Regional / Country Mainstreet Award:

The winner is - District Council of Ceduna for the Ceduna CBD Streetscape Project that completely transformed the township and improved the function and amenity of the mainstreet. A Merit Award was presented to the District Council of Mount Remarkable for their Stuart Street Melrose project.

The Renewal SA People's Choice Award:

The winner is - Rundle Street after it received the most public votes. Votes were encouraged through signage inside all Bendigo Banks and street decals in key locations with QR codes for easy voting.

Students Encouragement Award presented to students of the University of Adelaide (Architecture, Landscape Architecture and Urban Design School) for their project about Unley Road. The winning students are Justine Aldersey, Katie Steinwedel, Rebecca Millar and Zhe Wei.